• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.

[2005: NOV-DEC] This little Warp of mine

Jordan aka FltAdmlWolf

((Somewhere in space))

:: A man is sitting alone in a dark room, holding what seems to be the equivalent of a PADD, typing at an average speed on it's keys ::

"I'm getting old... I know, I've been saying that for the past thirty years, but I believe that even more every single day that I'm out here... I can't believe how long it's been since I last saw you... Feels like an eternity..."

:: The man pauses, taking a deep breath, looking almost as he struggles to catch a breath of air even though the life support systems are working perfectly ::

"I still remember the times when I used to do this run in a couple of weeks back and forth... Now, it takes years just to reach the destination and years again to come back... I wish you could come with me... At least I wouldn't be alone, afraid that I wouldn't be there if something happened to you..."

:: He pauses again, reflecting for a moment, then going back to his writing ::

"Those times were great... Humans and other species going at tremendous speeds, covering a lifetime of distance in a matter of days... I was still young back then... When I first experienced faster-than-light travel, I was merely a boy... I couldn't believe how fast we were going... I still have a hard time believing it after all these years... And yet, it is now that I actually appreciate it the most... When I can't experience it anymore..."

:: Another pause, this time to take a sip of some kind of beverage ::