• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.

First Officer In Focus – Lt Cmdr Quentin Collins, USS Arrow

StarBase 118 Staff

You'll Always Be My Number One

Each month we interview a First Officer or Commanding Officer of the fleet as part of our “First Officer in Focus” and “Captain’s Corner” columns to get to know them better, and learn more about what their positions entail.

This month, we’re interviewing the First Officer of the starship USS Arrow,  Lieutenant Commander Quentin Collins, a human male. 

DeVeau: Tell us a little about the writer behind the character — where are you from?

Collins: ABSOLUTELY! My name is Justin, and I am from the north of Texas! Just right near the border of Oklahoma. I have been a freelance writer and columnist for various websites for 12 years now.

What first got you interested in Star Trek?

Oh, man, that’s a big question isn’t it?

I guess at first it would have been reruns of the Original Series on Fox. They would play them later at night and I would huddle in front of this little black and white, heavy dialed TV I had to watch in my room. On low volume, of course, as to not wake up my parents. 

From there, after the finale of TNG which I vaguely remember, I got REALLY into Deep Space 9 (which was also played a lot in syndication at night) so I just went from there! After that, I started to mainline the movies and various other expanded universe novels like The Captain’s Table series, the Diane Duane Romulan novels, and the Titan series.

I think, as of now, the only TV series I HAVEN’T seen completely is Enterprise and the latest series of Discovery (and the remainder of Lower Decks, which I quite enjoyed the opening two episodes of). But honestly, Star Trek has just always been a part of my life. One of the first tapes I ever owned was the Director’s Cut of The Motion Picture and I am pretty sure I still have it somewhere around here.