• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.

Lower Decks: Ensign Rel Cassi, USS Juneau

StarBase 118 Staff

We’re here with another interview with a newer member of our community. The title of this column is “Lower Decks,” hearkening back to the Star Trek: The Next Generation episode titled “Lower Decks,” in which junior officers aboard the Enterprise-D speculate on the reasons for recent unusual actions taken by the command crew near the Cardassian border.

This month’s interview is with the writer behind Ensign Rel Cassi playing a female Bajoran Medical Officer assigned to the USS Juneau.

DeVeau: Tell us a little about the writer behind the character — where in the world do you hail from?

Rel: Well I come from Texas, but I’ve lived in a lot of places in the U.S., recently Hawaii, and now California. I’m in the Navy so we move around every once and awhile. 

I work in the IT field in a submarine, but I love writing. I self-published a book a few years ago now, trying to work on a sequel. I also like building and tinkering. I have a small collection of models I’ve put together.

Most importantly I’m a family man. I’ve been married to my lovely wife for five months this May the 4th. I have the cutest little girl in the world, she’s almost two and runs around everywhere. And my wife is pregnant with our second little one now. We’ve got a dopey pit-bull named Gimli, and three cats that are totally not named after Marvel and Star Wars characters (really).

What was your first introduction to Star Trek?

My dad was a huge Trek fan. When I was a kid he got my hooked with the First Contact movie, followed by some TOS classics like “Arena”. I started borrowing his DVDs and going through the whole library. DS9 has always been my favorite series, and I cry manly tears every time I watch “The Visitor”.

What about roleplaying?  How did you get started in that?