• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.

Lower Decks Interview: Lieutenant Jona ch’Ranni, USS Gorkon

StarBase 118 Staff

We’re here with another interview with a newer member of our community. The title of this column is “Lower Decks,” hearkening back to the Star Trek: The Next Generation episode titled “Lower Decks,” in which junior officers aboard the Enterprise-D speculate on the reasons for recent unusual actions taken by the command crew near the Cardassian border.

This month’s interview is with the writer behind Lieutenant Jona ch’Ranni playing an Andorian male Operations Officer assigned to USS Gorkon.

GALVEN: Thank you for allowing me to interview you! Could you tell us a little about yourself for our readers out there?

CH’RANNI: Hello! My name IRL is Josh and I’ve loved everything about Star Trek since I was a child. I work in the education industry in IT support in the midwest US. I’m married and have twin 4 year old boys – one of whom is named Jonah and is the inspiration for my character’s name.

What has been your favorite moment writing aboard the USS Gorkon?

Right now we are recovering from a mind-warping encounter with Q. I found it fun to imagine the feelings that would develop in someone exposed to such a strong personality with near unlimited power. Several crewmates got into a group therapy session with our ship’s counselor and dealt with the emotional and mental fallout. 

Do you take any inspiration from music/movies/TV/books when writing for your character? 

Star Trek: The Next Generation has always in my opinion been the pinnacle of what Star Trek is about. I know that we sim several decades past this time in our little universe but that’s what is in my mind as I write. When I was a teen I read The Original Series and TNG novels and the style of writing from those authors greatly influence my thinking about the internal dialog and scene descriptions I use. And, yes, “Lower Decks” is my favorite episode.