• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Sign in to follow this  
James Valenski Winter

Religion and Star Trek

Question

Hi there, im not really good at posing questions politely, or in a veiled manner so ill ask this straight up: Can my character believe in some form of obscure religion ?

Edited by Chris12225

8 answers to this question

Can my character believe in some form of obscure religion ?

There's no reason that your character can't be religious. However, I would say there are two qualifications to consider:

1. It must be realistic in accordance to character and species.

2. It must be realistic in accordance to what we've seen on screen for Starfleet officers. We'd be hard-pressed to allow any extremist views that wouldn't adhere to Starfleet standards.

We're happy to consider any proposals :)

The religion in question would be a rather obscure cult, who believe in a "Divine Emperor of Mankind".

Their tennants are:

• That the God-Emperor of Mankind once walked among men in their form and that He is and always has been the one, true God of humanity.
  • That the God-Emperor of Mankind is the one true God of Mankind, regardless of the previous beliefs held by any man or woman.
  • Every human being has a place within the God-Emperor's great plan.
  • It is the duty of the faithful to unquestionably obey the authority of the Federation, and their superiors, who speak in the Emperor's place.
  • To eradicate chaos throughout the universe, and in it's place create peace and order
Edited by Chris12225

The religion in question would be a rather obscure cult, who believe in a "Divine Emperor of Mankind".

Their tennants are:

• That the God-Emperor of Mankind once walked among men in their form and that He is and always has been the one, true God of humanity.
  • That the God-Emperor of Mankind is the one true God of Mankind, regardless of the previous beliefs held by any man or woman.